Thursday, January 17th, 2019

Four new professors receive tenure after unanimous voting at trustee’s meeting

Posted on April 14, 2016 in News
By Zachary Searles

Katelyn Wiggins
Katelyn Wiggins

At the Board of Trustees meeting earlier this month, four faculty members at the University of Southern Maine were awarded tenure and upgraded to the title of associate professor.

Kelly Hrenko Ph.D., Yuseung Kim Ph.D, Alexander Lapidus Ph.D. and Peter J. Woodruff Ph.D., have each been a part of USM for six years and each received a unanimous vote from all 16 board members to be granted tenure.

Professor Hrenko, before coming to USM, was teaching art in Minnesota to kids in kindergarten through 12 grade. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota for Art Education with a focus in culture-based art and culture-based education. She has published three book chapters along with three articles in journals and created an interactive website.

Before being brought to USM as part of a National Science Foundation grant linked to a research program, Professor Kim was an instructor at the University of Colorado where he received his Ph.D. and spent three years as a planner and researcher at Seoul Development Institute. Currently, Professor Kim teaches eight different programs, in both undergraduate and graduate programs, focusing on planning, town design and sustainability.

After earning an undergraduate degree in Russia, a masters degree in Thailand and a Ph.D. in English at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, along with teaching in several foreign countries, Professor Lapidus came to USM to teach literacy at the undergraduate and graduate levels, on the multiple campuses and online.

When not in the classroom, Professor Lapidus represents the state on the executive board of the Northern New England TESOL (Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages) Association. He also serves on the Faculty Senate here at USM.

The final professor to receive tenure at USM was Professor Woodruff, who teaches classes in Biochemistry at both the graduate and undergraduate level. When not in the classroom, Professor Woodruff is advising the Chemistry Club, which has been acknowledged by the American Chemical Society for work completed under his leadership.

According to the USM website, Professor Woodruff’s research is focused on a group of small organic compounds called compatible solutes. His work has resulted in two publications, a patent, and oral and poster presentations.

President of USM, Glenn Cummings, was quick to congratulate the four professors, including a small blurb about them in a weekly email blast that gets sent out to students.

“On behalf of the USM community allow me to express our sincere admiration and appreciation for their tremendous devotion to our students and their disciplines that this recognition implies,” President Cummings said in the March 14 edition of the Monday Missive.

5 Responses to “Four new professors receive tenure after unanimous voting at trustee’s meeting”

Leave a Reply

Please fill the required box or you can’t comment at all. Please use kind words. Your e-mail address will not be published.

Gravatar is supported.

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>